Role Playing EXP in MMORPGs: Pt. 1

Today I’d like to talk about roleplaying in an MMORPG! Don’t get me wrong, I’m no authority. I’ve RP’d in some MMOs sure but I was Level 1 RP Squire to their Level 99 RP Lich. This is me purely expressing my opinions on the matter because as I understand, RP is still a thing.

So, an overview of the games I RP’d in! Star Trek Online, The Secret World, Neverwinter Online, Lord of the Rings Online, DC Universe Online and, Final Fantasy XIV.

Anyway, the communities weren’t the majority of the player base (most of the times, we’d get trolled) but I could count them as huge and most of them are very friendly to n00blets like myself. They taught me the dos and don’ts and would gently correct my RP action mistakes. Much like a parent would chastise their vampiric child because they accidentally bitch slapped someone across the block and into the next half century. No, really, I once RP’d a vampire, it wasn’t nice.

However, what they didn’t teach me was the fact that Erotic Role Playing existed, apparently most of the people I hung out with were not so much against it, they just didn’t dig it. Anyway, at the time, I had no RP exp whatsoever so when my vampire got dragged into some hole in the wall (It was literally a whole in a wall in an alley) I thought it was a great chance to finally RP in a smaller scale, since most of my RP was done via big groups. I thought, ‘hey! Vampy can finally have a friend!’ I was wrong so very, very wrong.

When we finally get to the hole in the wall the other character started to well, for lack of a better term, come on to my vampy. To which my initial reaction, as a player, was to panic because WTF LADY, WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK?! Yes, I am this gullible, no, I’m not making this shit up. Yes, I honestly had no idea that they were going to do that. So, I chat my guild real quick and thankfully, someone was available (Albeit they put my vampire in a coma for two in-game weeks. As in, they shot the vampire full of dead people blood.) Anyway, I had a point, let me find my point.

Right, so, that’s how I was sort of introduced to the wonderful world of ERP! (My buddy and I noped the fuck outta there real quick because we was juz kids, k?) Anyway, I open this topic to my veteran RP friends and they were aghast! No, really, I could hear them in voice over IP, they were pissed the fuck off. Because apparently, it’s common courtesy to ASK people if they’re into that and not just… Grab someone and grope them, you know, like in real life, guys, come on.

Anyway, this post is getting really long so I’ll stop here. I’ll probably make this like… Star Wars… Told in several parts. (Ass first because that’s usually how I am but I don’t mean to be.)

 

Leave a Reply

